SBPS Staff Receive Awards

SBPS Staff Receive Awards

A number of SBPS Educators were recognized for excellence this past year.

Math instructor Shelby Aaberg has been named a recipient of the Don W. Miller Distinguished Service Award by the Nebraska Association of Teachers of Mathematics (NATM).    The NATM board established the Don Miller Distinguished Service Award in 1989. Its purpose is to honor mathematics educators for their contribution to the improvement of mathematics education in the state of Nebraska.  Candidates must be directly involved in mathematics education in the state of Nebraska, be active members of the NATM and NCTM, demonstrate leadership in the promotion of mathematics as a science and a field of study, demonstrate outstanding teaching, and demonstrate leadership in the development and implementation of new teaching strategies and technology for the teaching of mathematics.

Veronica Torres, paraeducator at Bluffs Middle School was awarded Paraeducator of the Year by the Nebraska Department of Education.  One paraeducator in each of four areas (early childhood, elementary, middle, high/transition) is recognized each year.  Paraeducators who demonstrate the highest standard of performance in carrying out their assigned responsibilities are considered for nomination.  Over 60 nominations were submitted this year and Torres was the highest-ranking Middle School paraeducator.  An excerpt from her nomination stated the following:  “Veronica has a solid work ethic and does an amazing job with everything she does, from working with students, documentation, and duties assigned to her, and she is great at communicating with her team of teachers about anything that students may need to be successful.”  Torres will be formally recognized for this achievement at the January regular Board of Education meeting.

AFJROTC Instructor Sergeant William Runk was recognized as the Region 7 Outstanding Instructor of the Year by the Department of the Air Force Air Education and Training Command.  Awardees represent the "Best of the Blue" in AFJROTC and are honored for their exemplary contributions and impact on their cadets, school and community. 

Scottsbluff High School administrators, Mr. Matt Huck and Mr. Dave Hoxworth were recognized by the Nebraska School Activities Association for their service to extracurricular activities.  SHS Activities Director Dave Hoxworth was recognized with the Distinguished Service Award by NSAA and Matt Huck was an Outstanding Service Award Recipient.

SHS HOSA Advisor, Jen Harre, was named Advisor of the Year for Nebraska.