Return to Headlines

Results of the 2019 District DECA Contest


The Greater Nebraska DECA Conference was held at the Harms Center at WNCC on November 4th, 2019. Over 110 students from Scottsbluff, Gering, and Hastings in Nebraska as well as students from Laramie, Wyoming competed. The conference was a great success, due in large part to the contributions of over 20 local business and community leaders who served as judges for the conference. Students were required to take a written test and participate in a judged role play. The scores of the two are added together to determine the top three individuals in each marketing area. The thirteen marketing areas in which the students competed in were:

Accounting Applications
Apparel and Accessories Marketing
Automotive Services Marketing
Business Finance
Business Services Marketing
Food Marketing
Hotel and Lodging Management
Human Resource Management
Marketing Communications
Restaurant and Food Service Management
Retail Merchandising
Sports and Entertainment Marketing

Scottsbluff DECA had 21 students place in the top 3, 5 students being Overall Winners, with several more earning top 3 finishes in either the written test or the judged role play. Scottsbluff DECA medalists include:

Apparel & Accessories Marketing
2nd Place – Jamie Chen
3rd Place – Logan Hernandez

Automotive Services Marketing
2nd Place – Sam Clarkson
3rd Place – Dillon Edens

Accounting Applications
2nd Place – Aniah Mobley
3rd Place – Brock Nikont

Business Finance
1st Place – Halle Shaddick
2nd Place – Cody Fosket

1st Place – Morgan Baird
2nd Place – Spencer Schaff
3rd Place (Tie) – Evan Heggem

Food Marketing
1st Place – Ethan Smith

Hotel & Lodging Management
2nd Place – Jack Darnell

Human Resources Management
2nd Place – Sydney Hinze

Marketing Communications
1st Place – Josie Amoo

Restaurant and Food Service Management
1st Place –– Lincoln Frank
2nd Place – MarLee Neu
3rd Place (Tie) – Kayler Soule

Retail Merchandising
3rd Place – Vanessa Harpold

Sports and Entertainment Marketing
2nd Place – Grace Michael
3rd Place – Riley Amundsen

Thank you to these community/business members who gave their time and expertise to help judge events this year:


Jack Baker – Baker & Associates
Taylor Blomenkamp – Platte Valley Bank
Matt & Gena Carpenter
Dr. Andrew Dick – ESU 13
Kevin Figg – Raymond James
Jesse Fitzke – Fitzke BBQ & SBPS
Netta Green
Shelby Hadenfeldt – Lynne Morgan Boutique
Kirk Hayes – Holliday Family Companies
Chris Kelley – Kelley Bean
Jane Kelley – WNCC
Tasha Koncaba
Hannah Liptac – Weborg 21 & SBPS
Mike Pelster – Mike’s Husker Stuff
Garrett Schaneman – Aulick Industries
Tory Schwartz – Platte Valley Bank
Justin Shaddick – Scottsbluff Public Schools
Ron Swank – Platte Valley Bank
Tanya Uhrich – Aulick Industries
Amy Winters – WNCC