6. SHS Holds Inaugural Athletic Hall of Fame Induction

6. Inagural SHS Hall of Fame Class of 2023
Inagural SHS Hall of Fame Class of 2023
packaged goods

On behalf of the Scottsbluff High School Athletic Hall of Fame Committee, we are honored to announce the new Scottsbluff High School Athletic Hall of Fame. Many of you may be familiar with the Nebraska Hall of Fame and the honored members from Scottsbluff; however, we have many more athletes that are worthy of recognition. Scottsbluff High School has a rich tradition of scholastic and athletic excellence and we are pleased to celebrate them and give them their due honor.

The honorees that will be recognized in the inaugural year of the Scottsbluff High School Athletic Hall of Fame will include 11 individuals who are members of the Nebraska Hall of Fame. In addition to these honorees, we will be honoring 13 individuals and 7 teams. These individuals and teams have epitomized the spirit of competition, the commitment to excellence, and the character it takes to succeed. Please see the list below of the honored athletes and teams.

Red = Nebraska Hall of Fame Members

Individuals (Graduation Year)

Paul Mohr Sr. (1950)

Gerald Ferguson (1947)

Bus Whitehead (1945)

Ray Knaub (1958)

Richard Knaub (1954)

Gary Neibauer (1963)

Frosty Anderson (1969)

Bud Murray (1955)

Ted Westervelt (1953)

Sesco Asher (1930)

Christy Lee (1977)

Darold Tiger Henry (1962)

Jan Hara (1977) 

Pam Klein (1978)

Chad Hohnstein (1996)

Clyde Bailey (1927)

Aubree Worden (2011)

Roy Petsch (1938)
Pam Schubarth (1979)

Coaches - (Induction Year)

Wayne Binfield (1994)

Bill Connor (2011)

Jim Barker (2016)

John Binning (1976-1981, Coach at SHS)


Bill Madden (1996)

Harriett Aden (26 Years, Activities Secretary)

The following teams will also be recognized.


 Girls Class A State Track Champions 

1976,1977, 1978

Nebraska High School Hall of Fame Golden Anniversary State Championship Teams 


Boys Cross Country, Football, Wrestling, and Boys Track - Presented in 2017

Recognition Dinner

The Hall of Fame Committee hosted inductees, team members and representatives of their families at dinner on Friday, October 13, 2023, at Scottsbluff High School.  After the Hall of Fame Banquet, all members were be recognized at half-time of the Scottsbluff-Gering Football Game.  


You can watch the video of the inauguration here: https://www.youtube.com/live/AmpbxKYZqzs?si=83xFK0xS8VYHoNAW